Review Insta360 ONE X2


Snowsports Academy tested the Insta360 ONE X2 camera for two weeks. The focus was more on ease of use than the technical specifications, so if you are looking for detailed information about all of the functions, or information about resolution, frame rates and other technical details, you will not find what you are looking for here. We were exploring and testing functions that provide added value, especially while skiing and snowboarding. We were looking for ways the camera can support us in our work as instructors and trainers, or simply open up new perspectives on our greatest passion – snow sports. And the camera has a lot to offer:


If you haven't had any previous experience with previous models, it should be said that this camera works completely differently from "normal" cameras. Even more so than with conventional videos, which are impressive from an image quality standpoint, but really come alive after editing the footage, through the powerful Insta360 software available in the app store (free of charge).

On the camera itself you can only choose very basic settings for example toggling between the two available lens angles: 150° or 360°

All the functions and cool effects are pulled out of the raw footage using the Insta360 software.


Review:

The image stabilizer is sensational. Even the shock on a landing is not noticeable in the video and looks like it was recorded by a drone.

The selfie stick is reliably and completely removed from the image. A selfie shot always looks like being filmed by a drone.

The 360° function or software-based tracking offers the possibility to film a subject completely regardless of the which direction it’s travelling in. The software keeps the selected object very well in focus and tracks it reliably.

An existing screenshot function makes it easy to take pictures from the existing video.

The camera is waterproof without any additional protective cover.


For newcomers to Insta360, the app itself needs a little bit of getting used to. The orientation within the apps is initially unintuitive compared to other apps. Not to be confused however, with more complicated software programs which achieve similar results. After some time and one or two online tutorials you will find your way around within the app.


Our favorite applications:


1) 360° - "Selfie" & "Follow"

The recording of a ride either alone with the camera stick in hand, or filmed by a second person, is "only" a variation of the classic ‘Action Cam shot’ and the Insta360 ONE X2 performs very well, but combine it with the advantages of good image stability and software tracking, it opens up a world of impressive footage.

Of course, snowboarders, who have no poles while riding are clearly at an advantage over the skiers when taking selfies. A construction to attach the camera directly to a ski pole would be a solution to the problem of holding your ski pole, and the camera stick in your hand at the same time – but there are other ways to get around this.

Distortions due to the fisheye effect cannot be avoided and lead to somewhat distorted images of body positions and angles, but saying that, it is to all intents and purposes an action camera and not intended to be used as a spirit level! However, it is precisely this aspect that can lead to disadvantages in certain aspects of instructor training and movement analysis.

Challenges that involve "selfie filming" then disappear when filming another person. It is much easier to track someone with this camera than with conventional cameras, as focusing is done by the software afterwards. When filming, you can keep your eyes on the slopes and almost completely ignore the job of positioning and pointing the camera and after editing, the object will always be in the center of the image or in any other desired position in the image, no matter what angles you were holding the camera at!


2) "Clone Trail" function

We particularly like the Clone Trail function, as the representation of a person in different positions of a movement sequence is a classic image representation of movements in sport. For these sequence shots the camera needs to be placed on a tripod. The subject can then make their movement at a close distance past the camera and the result is created in the app. This makes individual elements of the body movements come to life, such as subtle changes to body positions or trajectory.


3) Auto Time Shift function

The Auto Time Shift feature is an interesting edit of your footage provided by the app itself. It’s main function is to highlight certain points of interest and show specific areas it captures in slow motion. It is an ideal way to show a downhill run with special highlights such as lift stations, mountain huts or junctions. The software detects these elements and slows the video down to show it in a striking manner.

Advantage: It is a wonderful way to create a sense of orientation in an unknown environment.

Disadvantage: You cannot define the points of interest yourself, but you have to trust that the software recognises them in the editing. But once they are recognized, you can choose whether they should be used or not.


Summary:

The Insta360 ONE X2 impresses regarding image quality and the app-based processing of the videos. The camera itself is very easy to handle, finding your way around within the app requires some patience and practice. The diverse and creative possibilities that arise from both the hardware and the software stand out from standard cameras or traditional action cams and the results are outstanding. Many effect-oriented functions, as well as some very useful applications are available with this camera, which will definitely enrich our work training ski instructors and athletes.

Review Insta360 ONE X2


Wer noch gar keine Vorerfahrung mit Vorgängermodellen gemacht hat, dem sei gesagt, dass diese Kamera vom Grundprinzip völlig anders funktioniert als „normale“ Kameras. Noch viel mehr als bei herkömmlichen Videos, die zwar auch von der Aufnahmequalität leben aber erst durch die Bearbeitung zu einem richtigen Film werden, entfaltet die Insta360 ONE X2 ihre ganze Power erst durch die im App-Store (gratis) erhältliche Software.

Auf der Kamera selbst kann man nur ganz elementare Einstellungen wählen, wie z.B. die zwei Einstellungen des Aufnahmewinkels: 150° oder 360°

Alle Funktionen und Effekte werden erst in der Software aus dem Rohmaterial gekitzelt.


Praxisbericht:

Der Bildstabilisator ist sensationell. Selbst die Erschütterung bei einer Landung ist im Video nicht wahrzunehmen und wirkt wie ein gleitender Drohnenflug.

Der Kamera Stick wird zuverlässig und gänzlich aus dem Bild heraus gerechnet. Eine Selfie Aufnahme wirkt immer wie von einer Drohne gefilmt.

Die 360° Funktion bzw. das software-basierte Tracking bietet die Möglichkeit völlig unabhängig von der Richtung des Objekts zu filmen. Die Software behält das gewählte Objekt sehr gut im Fokus und verfolgt es zuverlässig.

Eine vorhandene Screenshot-Funktion ermöglicht es ganz einfach Bilder aus dem vorhandenen Video zu entnehmen. Die Kamera ist ohne zusätzliche Schutzhülle wasserdicht.


Die App selbst ist für Neulinge etwas gewöhnungsbedürftig. Die Orientierung innerhalb der App ist zunächst – im Vergleich zu anderen Apps – wenig intuitiv. Nicht zu vergleichen allerdings mit Softwareprogrammen, denen man ähnliches nachsagt. Nach einiger Zeit und dem einen oder anderen Tutorial findet man sich gut zurecht.


Unsere Lieblingsanwendungen:

1) 360° - „Selfie“ & „Follow“

Die Aufnahme einer Fahrt entweder alleine mit dem Kamera-Stick in der Hand, oder gefilmt durch eine zweite Person, ist zwar „nur“ eine klassische Variante die Insta360 ONE X2 zu verwenden, eröffnet aber in Kombination mit den Vorzügen der guten Bildstabilität und dem Software Tracking wunderbare Eindrücke.

Natürlich sind die Snowboarder, die keine Stöcke in der Hand haben bei den Selfie Aufnahmen klar im Vorteil gegenüber den Skifahrern. Eine Konstruktion, um die Kamera direkt am Skistock anzubringen wäre hier eine Lösung für das Problem, um nicht Stock und Kamera Stick gleichzeitig in der Hand halten zu müssen.

Die Verzerrung des Fischauge Objektivs liefert einerseits besondere Actionbilder, kann allerdings bei bestimmten Bewegungsanalyse-Aufnahmen zu Nachteilen führen.

Herausforderungen, die das „Selfie-Filmen“ mit sich bringen, verschwinden dann beim Filmen einer anderen Person. Man kann mit dieser Kamera viel leichter als mit herkömmlichen Kameras jemanden verfolgen, da das fokussieren nachträglich von der Software erledigt wird. Beim Filmen kann man so die Augen auf der Piste halten und die Kameraausrichtung fast völlig außer Acht lassen. Das Objekt wird nach der Bearbeitung immer in der Bildmitte oder in jeder anderen gewünschten Position im Bild sein, egal welche Positionen man während des Filmens zum Objekt hat.


2) Funktion „Clone Trail“

Die Funktion Clone Trail gefällt uns besonders gut. Die Darstellung einer Person in unterschiedlichen Positionen eines Bewegungsablaufs ist eine klassische Darstellungsvariante von Bewegungen im Sport. Platziert wird die Kamera hierfür auf einem Stativ. Die aufzunehmende Person kann dann in einem Abstand von wenigen Metern an der Kamera vorbeifahren. In der App Software wird das Ergebnis erstellt. Einzelne Bewegungselemente werden dadurch sichtbar, wie z.B. Positionsänderungen im Bewegungsverlauf.


3) Funktion „Auto Time Shift“

Bei der Funktion Auto Time Shift handelt es sich um eine von den App Entwicklern zur Verfügung gestellte Bearbeitungsvariante eines Videos. Ideal um z.B. die besonderen Elemente und Wegpunkte einer Pistenabfahrt darzustellen. Dadurch können unter anderem Liftstationen, Berghütten oder Abzweigungen hervorgehoben werden. Die Software erkennt diese herausstechenden Elemente, hält die im Zeitraffer dargestellte Abfahrt an, um diese in Slow Motion herauszuheben.

Vorteil: Es ist eine wunderbare Möglichkeit Orientierung in einer unbekannten Umgebung zu schaffen. Man kann allerdings die wichtigen Wegpunkte nicht selbst definieren, sondern muss beim Filmen darauf vertrauen, dass die Software diese in der Bearbeitung erkennt. Sind sie aber erst mal erkannt, kann man wählen, ob diese verwendet werden sollen oder nicht.


Resümee:

Die Insta360 ONE X2 überzeugt bzgl. Aufnahmequalität und der app-basierten Verarbeitung der Videos. Die Kamera selbst ist sehr einfach handzuhaben, das Zurechtfinden innerhalb der App erfordert teilweise etwas Geduld und Übung. Die vielfältigen und kreativen Möglichkeiten, die sich auf Basis der Hardware mittels der Softwarelösungen ergeben, heben sich von Standard Kameras oder traditionellen Action-Cams ab und sind im Ergebnis herausragend. Viele effektorientierte Funktionen, sowie einige sehr nützliche Anwendungsmöglichkeiten stehen mit dieser Kamera zur Verfügung, die auch unsere Arbeit in der Aus- und Fortbildung von Skilehrern und Snowboardlehrern bereichern werden.


78 Ansichten